7th December 2016

New College, Lanarkshire
Session: 2016-17
Date tabled: 07.12.2016
Primary sponsor: Marion Fellows
Sponsors: Kirsty Blackman, Gavin Newlands, Martin Docherty, Hannah Bardell, Anne McLaughlin

That this House congratulates New College Lanarkshire on winning 12 awards at the national skills competition, WorldSkills UK 2016, including four gold, two silver, and four bronze medals, and two highly commended awards across eight different skills resulting in the college winning the ‘Best in UK’ accolade for the third time in four years; congratulates gold medal winners Emma Leigh Porter, Kathleen Anne Fannan, Ross Megahy, and Ross Garrard; silver medal winners Andrew Mill, and Patrick Carr; bronze medal winners Darci Wardrope, Dawn Cumming, Stuart Livingston, and band The Lynchpins; and Highly Commended students in their field Allanah McCafferty, and David Cox; congratulates all students from the college who took part to showcase their skills and demonstrated their dedication and passion for their field; and thanks the teaching staff for continuing to make New College Lanarkshire an exemplary educational institution providing a ‘Skillset for life’ to its students.

Full details including all signatures available by clicking here.

Early Day Motions (EDMs) are formal motions submitted for debate in the House of Commons. However, very few are actually debated. EDMs allow MPs to draw attention to an event or cause. MPs register their support by signing individual motions.